Anirban Bhattacharya and Rakhi Gulzar got best actor awards at the Telangana Bengali Film festival

The Telangana Bengali Film Festival saw the best of Tollywood actors interacting with cine lovers of Hyderabad.

Sharmistha Ghosal Published :  12th December 2019 12:00 AM   |   Published :   |  12th December 2019 12:00 AM
Saayoni Ghosh and Anubhav Kanjilal at Telangana Bangali Film Festival

Saayoni Ghosh and Anubhav Kanjilal at Telangana Bangali Film Festival

The third edition of Telangana Bengali Film Festival kicked off with the screening of Aayna at Prasad Preview Theatre, Banjara Hills on December 6.  

The Opening Ceremony was graced by Sohag Sen, Manoj A Michigan, Ranjan Ghosh, Debasish Sen Sharma, Ishaa Saha, Saayoni Ghosh, Abir Chatterjee, Tuhina Das and other eminent personalities from Tollywood Film Industry.

Aparna Sen
Aparna Sen receiving best director award fro Ghawre Bairey Aaj

Organised by the Hyderabad Bangalee Samity in association with Utsab Cultural Association, Moving Images, and the movie buffs of the city, the festival saw the screening of over 22 films including 10 feature films, eight short films, and three foreign films and celebrated the work of national and international filmmakers. 

Rakhi Gulzar
Rakhi Gulzar receives best actress award for the film Nirban

The first day saw the screening of the movies Ghawre Bairey Aaj, BohomaanHrid Majharey and By The Grace of God. The other two days too saw the screening of popular movies including Loveless, Rajlaxmi O Srikanto, Bhanusingha, Purbo Poshchim Dokkhin Uttor Ashbei, Kolkatay Kohinoor, Canvas, Nirban, Sohobashe, The 6th Element, Bharam, Mitin Mashi, Samsara.

Saayoni Ghosh
Saayoni Ghosh got an award for best supporting act in Sohobashe

There were also five very interesting panel discussions held over the three days that saw eminent personalities including Abhijit Guha, Arindam Sil, Ranjan Ghosh, Ritwick Chakraborty, Saswata Chatterjee and Rahul Banerjee who took part in several interesting sessions including lack of women-centric content in Tollywood and how to improve box office collections.

Ritwick Chakraborty
Ritwick Chakraborty and Saswata Chatterjee at a panel discussion

Mitin Mashi was awarded as the Best Film, Anirban Bhattacharya received the Best Actor Award for Ghawre Bairey Aaj, Rakhi Gulzar received the Best Actress Award for Nirban, Rahul Banerjee and Saayoni Ghosh received the Best Supporting Actor awards for  Sohobashe and Aparna Sen received the Best Director Award for Ghawre Bairey Aaj under the popular awards category. Nirban was awarded for being the best film by the jury.