WhatsApp's new privacy feature lets you bid goodbye to pesky group chats, find out how!

Previously, WhatsApp users could be added to groups without their consent. 

author_img H Prasad Published :  03rd April 2019 06:08 PM   |   Published :   |  03rd April 2019 06:08 PM
whatsapp privacy feature

Whatsapp Privacy Feature

Ever since WhatsApp became the collective messaging application for people around the world a few years ago, one feature most people disliked is the groups. While it’s a great way of being in touch with family and friends, the continuous notifications could be a nightmare!

The messaging application, however, has decided to end this by introducing a new privacy setting to help users decide who can add them to groups. Previously, WhatsApp users could be added to groups without their consent. 

There are three options for group chats now that can be changed in the privacy settings option: Nobody – which means no one can add you to a group without an invitation. My contacts – only your contacts can add you to a group without an invitation. Anyone – anyone can add you to a group without an invite, which was the current standard before the new update. This new setting is another example of preserving your privacy.

Here are a few steps to help you change your WhatsApp settings:

  1. Go to WhatsApp settings.
     
  2. Go to Accounts and then Privacy. 
     
  3. Open up the Group option in Privacy and you will find the new group settings feature.
     
  4. Choose the option that works for you.

 

 

Comments